The state of Wisconsin recently enacted a mandatory car insurance law. As of June 1, 2010, you must be insured and be able to show proof of insurance if you are stopped by law enforcement. This change has sent many people to their insurance agents to review their automobile insurance coverage. As you review your policy, the attorneys at Courtney & Molter also recommend that you start carrying or increase the limits of your uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage.
This coverage will protect you and your family if you are ever involved in a hit-and-run accident or are injured by an underinsured driver.
Call the attorneys at Courtney & Molter if you have sustained a car accident injury or have questions about uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage at 414.312.4184 or 866.624.9029.
Contact our Milwaukee offices for a free initial consultation.
The new Wisconsin car accident insurance law makes it mandatory to carry bodily injury liability coverage, including uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage.
Uninsured Motorist Accident
If you are injured by an uninsured motorist, you can make a claim for damages against your insurance policy. If you carry the minimum $100,000/$300,000 coverage, you can collect up to $100,000 for bodily injury or death for one person, and up to $300,000 for two or more persons. If your medical bills and wage loss exceed the policy limits, it is not likely you could collect more.
Underinsured Motorist Accident
If you are injured by an underinsured motorist, the scenario works somewhat the same. We approach the other driver's insurance company to file damages up to the limits of their policy. If your expenses exceed that, and they often do, we can file a claim against your uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage for the balance, up to the dollar limit of your policy.
We advise clients that paying the extra money for additional uninsured and underinsured coverage helps protect their families in case of a catastrophic car accident. This coverage also provides protection if you are involved in a pedestrian accident. We are happy to help answer questions about the new Wisconsin mandatory car insurance law, and suggest you contact your insurance agent for additional review.
An *AV-Rated Law Firm,
Here for You in Your Time of Need
Milwaukee Area: 414.312.4184 | Statewide Toll Free: 866.624.9029
Call our southeast Wisconsin law offices directly or contact us online. Phones are answered 24-hours-a-day. If we can't speak to you right away, don't worry — we will return your call or e-mail soon.
*CV, BV and AV are registered certification marks of Reed Elsevier Properties Inc., used in accordance with the Martindale-Hubbell certification procedures, standards and policies. Martindale-Hubbell is the facilitator of a peer review rating process. Ratings reflect the confidential opinions of members of the Bar and the Judiciary. Martindale-Hubbell Ratings fall into two categories – legal ability and general ethical standards.